The curriculum we currently follow is guided by the requirements of the National Curriculum. 

The EYFS seven areas of learning and development are followed in Reception:

  • Communication and language
  • Physical Development
  • personal, social and emotional development
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

The National Curriculum subjects for Years 1 to 6 are:

  • English
  • Maths
  • Science
  • Design and Technoloy
  • Computing
  • Languages (KS2 only)
  • History
  • Geography
  • Art and Design
  • Music
  • Physical Education

We teach German to children in Years 4, 5 and 6.

In addition to these subjects, we also teach Religious Education, Philosophy for Children, Swimming and Personal, Social and Health Education.

You can see our Long Term Curriculum Plans on the School Policies page of this website.

Find out more about the National Curriculum from the government's GOV.UK website.

Teaching Reading

Our approach to teaching reading is based on the National Strategies Letters and Sounds: Principles and Practice of High Quality Phonics and uses a combination of strategies including Jolly Phonics, Reading for Meaning, Using picture clues etc.

Our main reading scheme is the Oxford Reading Tree.

Excellence and Enjoyment

Although we follow the requirements of the National Curriculum and the Cumbria LA, it is our approach and delivery of the subjects that make us distinctive as a School. Our classroom teachers have the necessary freedom to shape the curriculum in their own way to ensure excellence and enjoyment for all their pupils. This includes applying the core skills learnt in literacy, maths and computing to other areas of the curriculum and creating experiences that are real, meaningful and memorable for the children.